top of page

Hand Warmers

During Fall and Winter, by just stepping outside sometimes, driving in your car, walking to school, or doing errands, your hands can get really cold. I remember I would walk around my school campus to get to morning class and my hands were FREEZING! I asked myself, There should be an answer to this freezing madness! I would have to go to class and I could barely take notes since my hands were so cold. One of my friends would come in with this weird bag thing that felt as if there was sand inside. When she would mix the bag and like move it around, it would create heat, but then she would have to throw it away after and buy more and more. So I started thinking that there should be a way to make something that I could reuse. So I did some research and found out RAW RICE! When you heat up rice, it stays warm for some time and can be reheated! And then i decided to put it to the test of putting inside a mini size pillow but instead of stuffing, it would be rice. So let's start!

The materials you will need:

-Two pieces of cloth, square or any shape you will like

-Rice (NO INSTANT RICE!)

-Rosemary/Lavender (Optional)

1. The first step is to get the two pieces of cloth and do the thing you do with the pillow. You will face the right side (the correct side/ color side) of the clothes facing each other and the wrong sides facing outside. And you will sew all the way around EXCEPT one part to have a little opening to fill it up with rice.

2. Now you will flip it inside out and fill it up with rice. We use rice because other grains will react differently with heat and rice gets hot and can last up to an hour with heat. An optional thing, and a good thing you should do is, you can add is rosemary. I recommend you do because when you put the hand warmer in the microwave and heat it, it does come out with a smell, it doesn't smell that bad but if you don't want to smell it, then put in some rosemary and it will smell good. When rosemary heats up, it smells and that overpowers the weird smell of the rice. The smell of the rice doesn't mean that something bad is going on in your hand warmer, it is just the rice is getting hot and releases. So now flip it inside out and fill it up 3/4 or 1/2 full of rice. ( Don't fill it up to the top or then you can sew it close!)

3. Now all that is left, is to sew it up! And you are all done and you can put in the microwave for 20- 30 seconds and enjoy the warmth!


Recent Posts

bottom of page